Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Marie Bostwick!

*Giveaway!* Easy entry~ Ends 4/15/17
 Today’s featured author is the one and only Marie Bostwick! Learn some fun facts about Marie in this short Q&A, which you’ll find some answers were quite interesting.  Leave a comment on the blog for a chance to win!
1. What genre(s) do you write?
Primarily women’s fiction. However, I have also written some romance and historical fiction.
2. Coffee or tea lover?
Coffee is very necessary in the morning (as in: “please, in the name of all that is holy, don’t ask me any questions until you see the second cup in my hand”). After two cups of coffee I switch to tea. My current favorite Marketspice Cinnamon Orange. Incredible stuff!
3. Name one thing on your bucket list.

I’d love do a walking tour of the Cotswolds in England with my husband, hiking between little English Inns and stopping at the pubs along the way.

4. Do you have pets?
At the moment, I am down to one very spoiled kitty known (for obvious reasons) as Phat Cat. We are moving into a new house right now and once we are settled I want to get another another Cavalier King Charles, same breed as my dear departed Errant Spaniel. They are the calmest, cuddliest dogs – great breed for a writer.

5. When I wake up every morning I… head directly for the coffeemaker and heaven help you if you get in my way.

6. Weirdest or unique thing you own.
On my office wall, I keep a collection of lovely old hats (mostly from the 40’s and 50’s) that I picked up at tag sales over the years. I am also very attached to my beautiful 1987 Knabe baby grand piano. The house my husband and I are building right now is quite a bit smaller than our old one. That was fine with me but I said I wouldn’t move without my piano, so we tripled the size of the entry hall and turned it into a gallery for music and dancing (my husband and I do a little ballroom dancing. We’re terrible but we have fun).

7. Do you have any hobbies or particular skills?
Oh, I have way, way too many hobbies for my own good. I have been quilting for more than twenty years and have lost count of how many quilts I’ve made in that time. I also paint (poorly) and play the piano (the same way). I dabble in just about every kind of textile craft – knitting, crocheting, cross stitch, embroidery, tatting, and even basket weaving.
As far as particular skills – I do a pretty good impression of a Pekinese dog. But only after a couple glasses of wine.

8. What do you hope readers will experience or gain when reading your stories?
First and foremost, I’d like to give readers a few hours where they can disconnect from any worries or troubles and just be entertained. I’d love for them to experience a wide range of human emotion during that time – laughter, tears, suspense, surprise, and satisfaction. And when they close the cover, I hope they’ll take with them the belief that happy endings are possible, for everyone.


Meet Marie Bostwick

Follow Marie’s Amazon page for SPECIAL OFFERS!

Marie Bostwick is a USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of uplifting of historical and women’s fiction, including the popular Cobbled Court Quilt series of novels. An unabashed advocate of happy endings, Marie crafts strong female characters who feel like friends, bringing messages of hope and encouragement to reader’s lives.

When not traveling the country to speak at quilt shows, libraries, bookstores, and conferences, Marie and her husband live in Oregon. They have three grown sons, two daughters-in-love, and five adorable and extremely advanced grandchildren. Marie’s next novel, The Promise Girls, about three former child prodigy sisters who are trying to move on in their lives, will be released on March 28th.

www.mariebostwick.com


THE PROMISE GIRLS

Buy on Amazon

In an emotionally rich and captivating new novel, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick reunites three sisters whose deep bond is rooted in an unconventional past.

Every child prodigy grows up eventually. For the Promise sisters, escaping their mother’s narcissism and the notoriety that came with her bestselling book hasn’t been easy. Minerva Promise claimed that her three “test tube” daughters—gifted pianist Joanie, artistic Meg, and storyteller Avery—were engineered and molded to be geniuses. In adulthood, their modest lives fall far short of her grand ambitions. But now, twenty years after the book’s release, she hopes to redeem herself by taking part in a new documentary.

Meg, who hasn’t picked up a paintbrush in years, adamantly refuses to participate, until a car accident leaves her with crushing medical bills. While she recuperates in Seattle, the three sisters reluctantly meet with filmmaker Hal Seeger, another former prodigy. Like them, he’s familiar with the weight of failed potential. But as he digs deeper, he uncovers secrets they’ve hidden from each other—and a revelation that will challenge their beliefs, even as it spurs them to forge their own extraordinary lives at last.


Giveaway! 

Click HERE to enter THE PROMISE GIRLS Giveaway!


I hope you sign up to receive my newsletters  at the top right corner of this post at Never Miss a Post!   If it says You are following this blog, then you are good to go!

Follow  Lorelei’s Lit Lair  on Facebook, Twitter,  Instagram, and Pinterest for updates on great reads I’ll be recommending next! social-1834007_640social-1834013_640social-1834010_640social-1852361_640

*Please note that some cover images and text links connect to a Lorelei’s Lit Lair affiliate portal. Thank you so much for your support. It’s greatly appreciated!


Any comments or questions for Marie? Share any hobbies or skills you have. 

38 thoughts on “Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Marie Bostwick!

    1. My Aunt Hazel made the most spectacular crocheted coverlet with cotton thread – a real heirloom. I do crochett a little, I’m working on a kids afghan that is all crocheted granny squares in primary colors. It’ll be adorable if I ever finish!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Disconnect while reading a story….goooood!!!
    I am like you, a craft junkie. I love trying new things. Even if I am good at them, I give over to something else after a time. But I might come back for more later. As with sewing, I get in a mood….
    Fun wall of hats collection! Whats your favorite??
    How spectacular!! A music gallery entry! Who cares if you are good or not? So romantic and I bet a lot of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never met a fiber art I didn’t love. Right now, I have my eye on a spinning wheel…which I need like a hole in the head but who cares? Hmmm….hard to pick on hat but I have this 1920’s men’s straw boater that is really cool. Oh, we’re definitely NOT good but we do have fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to get back into cross stitching. I do sew but haven’t quite made the transition to quilts like I had hoped. I am also an amateur photographer. Your collection of hats sounds like something a friend of mine would love to see. I love that you and your husband dances.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did a ton of cross stitch when my kiddos were small – it was great because I could put down at anytime they needed me and not be lost when I got back to it. For Christmas, I had a friend design me a cross stitch pattern with a favorite bible verse. I haven’t started it yet but I’m excited about doing so after I get my next book turned in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

