Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Suzanne Brockmann Presents…Ed and Jason Gaffney!

*Giveaway at the end! Easy Entry!* U.S. only~Ends 6/30/17
 Today’s featured authors are an amazing pair! Please welcome father and son,  Ed and Jason Gaffney, beloved husband and son of the one and only, Suzanne Brockmann!  I’ll be featuring Suzanne in July- 😀 ~ Such a talented family!~Enjoy these fun Q&A’s about Ed and Jason who write m/m romantic comedy. You’ll find some of their responses quite interesting! Leave a comment on the blog for a chance to win in the giveaway!

1. What genre(s) do you write?

Ed and Jace: Romantic comedy (books and movies)

2. Coffee or tea lover?

Jace: Tea.

Ed: Beer.

Jace: Um, I think they’re looking for your favorite morning drink.

Ed: My bad. Orange juice.

3. Name one thing on your bucket list.

Ed: Traveling to Australia

Jace: Visiting my father in Australia, in the middle of my WORLD CRUISE. (Dad, you need a bigger bucket.)

4. Do you have pets?Ed Gaffney with Dexter and Little Joe

Ed: Dexter and Little Joe (miniature schnauzers)

Jace: No pets yet, unless you count my over thirty plants. They have names. Or my new film production company, My Pet Hippo Productions. (Would be amazing to have a pet Hippo!)

5. When I wake up every morning I…

Ed: Water the garden, along with Dexter and Little Joe

Jace: Go outside and check on my plants. LA is super dry and I ripped out the lawn for more drought tolerant plants. I’m still learning their habits and how long they can go without water.

6. Weirdest or unique thing you own.

Ed: Framed Buffy the Vampire Slayer artwork signed by Joss Whedon with inscription that calls me a “swell date.”

Jace: My husband and I have a 3-D printed miniature statue of us that was made for our wedding. It was a gift from a cousin and one of the most priceless things we own.

7. Do you have any hobbies or particular skills?

Ed: Producing movies with Jace.

Jace: I love to garden and landscape. Lately I’ve taken up doing DIY art from Pinterest ideas to make original artwork for my films.

8. What do you hope readers will experience or gain when reading your stories?

Ed: Laughter

Jace: Laughter and the hope that our world with one day be like the universe we’ve set our books in—filled with love and acceptance for all people.

Ed: I like Jace’s answer better.


Meet Jason and Ed Gaffney

Jason T Gaffney and Ed Gaffney are a son/father writing team who have collaborated for over ten years on stage plays (Looking for Billy Haines), and movies (Jolly, The Perfect Wedding, Russian Doll). Recently, they joined forces to write m/m novellas that include laughs, emotions, and hot sex scenes. (#awkwardnotawkward) They are currently in pre-
production for their next m/m rom-com movie, a micro-budget feature, working title Analysis Paralysis.
www.JasonTGaffney.com
www.EdGaffney.com
Suzanne Brockmann Presents website
Jason-Facebook
Jason-Twitter
Ed-Twitter
Jason-Instagram

Here’s a Skype-interview  of Suzanne, Ed and Jason by Will and Jeff of the Big Gay Fiction Podcast.


FIXING FRANK

Suzanne Brockmann Presents a new series of m/m category romance novellas set in Southern California, written by Jason T. Gaffney with Ed Gaffney. Short, spicy, and funny, the California Comedy series puts the comedy in rom-com.

Gaffney Fixing Frank COVER
Available on Amazon

First grade teacher Terry O’Dell is thrilled when he’s chosen as a contestant on Fixing Our Future, a popular reality web series where the winner raises money for charity. A few weeks of light-hearted challenges and fun competition is exactly the kind of distraction he needs to get over his breakup with his fiancé. But when Terry learns that handsome landscaper Frank Vacca is another contestant on the show, his excitement turns to dread. Because Terry’s ex ran off with Frank’s ex. It’s only a matter of time before their embarrassing personal history is exploited by the show’s producers, in hopes of going viral with on-camera tears and maybe a table flip or two.

But Frank is not the kind of guy who waits for life to happen to him, and he decides to fight fire with fire. When their secret is exposed, he impulsively declares that he and Terry are better than ever, because they, too, have hooked up—in fact, they’re engaged. Already popular, the pair instantly becomes internet royalty. Of course it’s all a sham, and only a matter of time before the truth comes crashing down. But then, Frank and Terry—long at odds and constantly arguing—actually begin to fall for each other. And that’s when things really start to go wrong…


***GIVEAWAY!***

For a chance to win an early copy of SOME KIND OF HERO by Suzanne Brockmann (U.S only), simply leave a comment or ask Jason/Ed a question based on their Q&A responses.  Giveaway ends on 6/30/2017.

giveaway cover Brockmann SKOH
Visit Suzanne Brockmann’s Amazon Page for SPECIAL OFFERS!

Blurb of SOME KIND OF HERO: Navy men don’t come tougher than Lieutenant Peter Greene. Every day he whips hotshot SEAL wa

nnabes into elite fighters. So why can’t he handle one fifteen-year-old girl? His ex’s death left him a single dad overnight, and very unprepared. Though he can’t relate to an angsty teen, he can at least keep Maddie safe—until the day she disappears. Though Pete’s lacking in fatherly intuition, his instinct for detecting danger is razor sharp. Maddie’s in trouble. Now he needs the Troubleshooters team at his back, along with an unconventional ally.

Romance writer Shayla Whitman never expected to be drawn into a real-world thriller—or to meet a hero who makes her pulse pound. Action on the page is one thing. Actually living it is another story. Shay’s not as bold as her heroines, but she’s a mother. She sees the panic in her new neighbor’s usually fearless blue eyes—and knows there’s no greater terror for a parent than having a child at risk. It’s an ordeal Shay won’t let Pete face alone. She’s no highly trained operative, but she’s smart, resourceful, and knows what makes teenagers tick.

Still, working alongside Pete has its own perils—like letting the heat between them rise out of control. Intimate emotions could mean dangerous, even deadly, consequences for their mission. No matter what, they must be on top of their game, and playing for keeps . . . or else Pete’s daughter may be gone for good.


Follow  Lorelei’s Lit Lair on Facebook, Twitter, and  Instagram  for updates and to see what great reads I’ll be recommending next, plus other fun stuff. 🙂

Sign up at the top right corner of this post at Never Miss a Post!   If it says You are following this blog, then you are good to go!

social-1834007_640social-1834013_640social-1834010_640social-1852361_640

*Please note that some cover images and text links connect to a Lorelei’s Lit Lair affiliate portal. Thank you so much for your support. It’s greatly appreciated!

82 thoughts on “Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Suzanne Brockmann Presents…Ed and Jason Gaffney!

  1. There is nothing better than reading a story that makes you laugh out loud while at the same time you are clutching your chest because the story moves you. Question for Jason and Ed. . .Who else do you enjoy reading?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Angela. Probably my favorite romance of all time is a m/m called Glitterland, by Alexis Hall. (And it’s funny, too!) It’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I loved Suzanne Elizabeth Phillips’ Nobody’s Baby But Mine. And Suzanne Brockmann (who just happens to be my wife) can really deliver funny romantic stories, too. Check out the subplot between David and Mallory in The Unsung Hero, or Cosmo and Jane’s story in Hot Target. Brilliant.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Angela! I totally agree with you! There is nothing better than reading a story that makes you laugh out loud. Lately I’ve been enjoying listening to audiobooks as I’m cleaning my house and preparing for filming later this year. Two authors I’ve really enjoyed as of late are A. Lee Martinez, and Scott Meyer. They’re both really solid as far as humor goes and I find that I’ll have to pause what I’m doing to have a good laugh. Two other books I’ve really enjoyed for the humor is ‘Shiny!’ by Amy Lane, and ‘Shawn’s Law’ by Renae Kaye. Also, anything by Josh Lanyon tends to be a win for me, although he is less about the humor and more about the mystery!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jace, I picture you talking to your plants, using their names, like a football coach, “You can do it, Hector the cactus, you can go one more day without water. Can’t you? One more day….”
    I hope it’s translating well. In my head, it looks pretty funny.
    Congratulations on your success!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lisoo! First thank you so much! And Second you are actually totally correct! At this point I have almost 45 plant babies around the house and I have names for all of them. (I also have a ton of names for my plants that are outside too, but I can’t even begin to think of how many are our there! haha) A few of their names are Planty (that was my husband’s original plant he came with), Aly the Aloe plant, Spikey the cactus, and Planty 2.0 for one of the six offspring of Planty.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve started my annual summer reread of the Troubleshooters series and can’t wait to add another story to the arch! The development of the Jules/Robin story line was the first time I realized that in romance I found the same joy from a m/m story line as I did m/f. As a result my library list has become much more diverse in many ways. I feel like I need to add the disclaimer that I’m a huge proponent of equal rights, so this personal revelation surprised me. I gravitated towards what I thought I could relate to (a relationship that could mirror my own) and felt like slapping myself for not having expected to find those elements in any relationship. Looking forward to adding “Fixing Frank” to my read list.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would imagine family time is filled with lots of laughter! Love Ed’s sense of humor in his answers….I’m married to a guy with that type of humor! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, brace yourself, then, because some years back, I bid on (and won!) two seats at a charity dinner for six with Joss Whedon at Comic Con. I brought Ed as my date! So I have a signed Buffy poster, too, as well as a Joss-signed copy of FRAY, my fav of his graphic novels. (That dinner! So awesome. I think if you google “Joss Whedon Suzanne Brockmann” you can still find my starry-eyed account of it somewhere on the internets… Yes, it’s still up at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/notes/suzanne-brockmann/my-dinner-with-joss-whedon/379617012106479/ )

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m just a Brockmann/Gaffney Family can lol. I own all of Suz’s works, and her combined works with Melanie, and now I’m the proud owner of Ed & Jason’s wonderful new series, plus their films on DVD!! Like I said, I’m a fan. That being said, I love this family. They’re talented and use their talents to make this world a better place for all. Even Suz’s parents are active in making our world caring and inclusive. I’m grateful to them all for sharing their gifts. Thank you💚💛💜💙💕🌈

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Lorelei!!! I second what my mom said and thank you so much for having us! It was a blast to answer the questions you asked and it’s an honor to be hanging out with you today! I’m also loving all the comments and questions from the readers!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Your whole family is so inspirational. Such an awesome family unit. Plus, you love dogs! 🙂 I am a HUGE fan of Suz – I have read all your books multiple times and have them in multiple formats. I have really enjoyed the books you wrote with Mel, too, and can’t wait to read the next one…hint…hint.. I am also loving the new series Jace and Ed are writing. I love the intimate look inside the characters and relationships, and the light, funny way they are presented. Can’t wait to read this new one! It downloaded to my kindle, but I have to work today. 😉 Thank you all for so many things!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You all are such a talented family. I have enjoyed reading Suz for many years. Will have to find a way to get to read “Fixing Frank” because right now I have no e-reader. My question is have you ever considered a f/f lead characters? For my daughter. She is a very avid reader and I would appreciate being able to show her what a loving f/f relationship could be like, even if it is in a story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Melissa! FRANK is available in POD (print on demand, in a really nice trade size paperback!) via both Amazon and BN.com! And, yes, too re: f/f, but in a movie! We recently (finally!) finished post-production on a film that Ed wrote (and Jason appears in!) called RUSSIAN DOLL that features a female police detective who’s trying to track down a missing woman while still mourning the death of her wife.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Melissa! Thank you so much! As of now we don’t have any plans to write a F/F book, but who knows what the future will bring? We just finished the final edit of ‘Russian Doll’ which does feature a main character who happens to be a lesbian and her love story. It’s going to be featured in the North Carolina Gay and Lesbian Film Festival. Also, if you’re looking for a hard copy of ‘Fixing Frank’ you can grab one on both Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Hi Melissa:

      Following up on what Suz wrote…

      Russian Doll is a thriller (not a romantic comedy), but there is a f/f subplot in which the detective meets another woman, and begins to take some cautious steps toward moving forward with her life after the death of her wife. And we just got word that the film is an official selection of the 22nd Annual North Carolina Gay and Lesbian Film Festival!!! The venue is the Carolina Theatre of Durham, box office phone 909-560-3030. Their website is found at:

      http://www.carolinatheatre.org/films/festivals/ncglff

      Screening times are August 11 9:10pm, August 14, 3:10pm, and August 16 8:50pm.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d want singer/songwriter Michael Holland to play Jules (he was an actor as a child, and he’s focusing now on writing Broadway musicals, so he might resist! But he gracefully accepted my request to read the audiobook edition of ATTN when it was released. If you listen to the audiobook, you can hear EXACTLY what Jules sounds like when he talks to me, inside of my head, which he still does rather constantly!!!). As for Robin, well, Jason’s finally old enough to take on that role! (When I first wrote the book, Jace was too young!)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Okay, now that Suz has cast her vote…

      There’s an actor who I first saw in National Treasure named Justin Bartha. He might be too old, now, but at the time, I thought he’d make a great Jules.

      And for Robin, if Jace isn’t doing it, I’d go with Matt Bomer.

      🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Maude for spending some time here! Aren’t authors awesome?! I always enjoy having them share a little more about themselves and their work. Good luck with the giveaway. Be sure to check Virginia Kantra who has a giveaway open as well! 😊She’s also a favorite of mine 😁

      Like

      1. Virginia Kantra is a favorite of mine, too! I’m a huge fan, and it was fun to see that she was here just a day before us! (When I wrote the scene in SOME KIND OF HERO when the hero, Pete, first meets Shay-the-heroine’s two teenage sons, my mantra was WWVKD (what would Virginia Kantra do?) because she is the master when it comes to revealing her hero’s gentler, kinder, more thoughtful/careful side when interacting with children!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. 😄YES! Virginia is totally amazing! Just like you! You both write spectacular stories. Your characters seem so real to me, as if they truly exist! They play like films in my mind when I read. 👍👍❤️

          Like

  8. Thank you to everyone who came to hangout with us today! It was wonderful to meet you all and to answer some really fun questions! And thank you so much to Lorelei again for hosting us! This was a wonderful day! (I’ll make sure to check in again before I go to bed of course, but I have to go run and make dinner! Tonight is roast chicken with carrots and rice!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a pleasure having you. The giveaway will be open until the end of the month, so I’m sure as I share more Author Spotlights until then, new readers may pop in to enter.
      Have a great dinner! Sounds yummy!

      Like

    1. Hi Eawells! I agree! Stories that make me laugh are the best! I’ve always loved RomCom movies and that genre comes really easily to me when writing. I also think that the two genres compliment each other nicely, allowing for the best of both to shine.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Good question! There’s something about the combination that I’ve always loved. Maybe the answer is that although it’s certainly possible to come up with a straight comedy, writing a romantic comedy provides a built-in framework for a longer story on which to hang the humor.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jason,
    Have you ever tried to grow Sidekick Blackheart? It is one of my favorite plants. It loves hot, hot sun, so great for L.A.!
    And Ed I follow Suz’s updates on FB. Glad to hear Little Joe is doing so well!!
    Joy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Little Joe is just the best. Ten years old, permanently weakened in the rear legs by her injury, but ABSOLUTELY COULDN’T CARE LESS!!!

      🙂

      Happy, sweet, enjoying every day. She’s like a champion at being alive. We’re very lucky to have her. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Joy! I haven’t tried Sidekick Blackheart yet. In fact I’ve seen it around town and wasn’t able to figure out what it was until just now when I Googled it. Before I knew it’s name I would always think about how that plant was so dynamic and how I loved the deep purple color that it brought. (I’m a huge fan of trying to make my yard have as many color variations as possible, so it would fit in perfectly!) Now that I know its name, I can add it to my plant family! Thank you for introducing it to me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. All Through The Night and When Tony Met Adam are two of my favorite books of Suz. I love her books! So I did wonder how long it would take Jason to write a book. Can’t wait to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laurie! Both of those books are favorites of mine too. My all time favorite of my mom’s (after Hot Target) is actually ‘Infamous.’ If you haven’t read it yet you should check it out. 🙂 I’m actually really glad that I finally jumped into the pool, because I’ve found that I love writing almost as much as I love acting and making films. (And that’s a lot!) Hope you enjoy them!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I’d love to win a copy of SKOH! Jace–do you use funny memories of you & your husband as inspiration for scenes in your books? And if so, how does hubby feel about that? What do you guys consider harder to write–comedy or drama? Can’t wait to read your new book–exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jenny! I definitely have used things and memories in the books that have come from past events in my life, but I can’t say that any of these have come directly from a funny moment between me and Matt. (Although I’m sure if I changed it enough he wouldn’t mind haha!) I personally find writing comedy much easier than drama. As an actor I’ve found that I really try to get into my characters’ heads and that can be a bit rough at times during a drama. Also, I love when I’m writing comedy and I come up with an idea that makes me laugh in my head and can keep me giggling for hours. But who knows what the future holds? I have angsty days every now and then, so maybe I’ll be inspired to write something really dramatic. Haha! Hope you enjoy Fixing Frank and can’t wait to hear what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Jace, just got Fixing Frank on my Nook. I read Clark’s book and really liked it. The other 2 are in my queue to be read. I am also an Amy Lane fan. I’m on my second audio book of hers. If you ever decide to put the California series on audio I suggest using Nick J Russo as narrator. I’ve listened to several of his narrations and he is very good. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Andrea! I’m so glad that you enjoyed ‘Creating Clark!’ And thank you for grabbing a copy of ‘Fixing Frank’ and ‘A Match For Mike!’ It was really fun coming up with comedic scenes for them to go through. I really enjoyed Amy Lane’s book ‘Shiny!’ She did a great job and it was fun to listen to. Ironically Nick J Russo didn’t narrate that book, but I did get to hear him narrate ‘Frat Boy and Toppy’ by Anne Tenino and he was fantastic! If you haven’t listened to or read that book yet it was really good. We’ll definitely have to keep him in mind when we get closer to putting the books on tape.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! Thanks for the question!

      So far, we’ve done a m/m romantic comedy (The Perfect Wedding) and a thriller (Russian Doll) with a f/f subplot. The next one up is another m/m romantic comedy (working title: Analysis Paralysis), that Jace and I wrote, and that Jace will direct and star in. I think it’s fair to say that although we’re drawn to romcoms, we’ll do anything if we feel strongly about it. There are a lot of entertaining stories out there…

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Well, isn’t this a perfect meet up! I’m a Russian Doll backer and can hardly wait to see the results! I also love hanging out with Lorelei around social media (she’s very busy!)
    Terrific blog post- you guys are ALL so funny and talented. I wish you nothing but success!
    Sarah Andre

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sarah! First thank you so much for being one of the amazing Kickstarter backers that made Russian Doll possible! And second thank you so much for stopping by and your kind words! We’re thrilled that Lorelei asked us to come here on her blog! Hope you enjoy Russian Doll and Fixing Frank!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I have to say that it’s not as hard as one would think because we’ve already worked together on so many other projects so we know how we work. It’s also really fun to collaborate on the ideas and work on the outline with her because she knows this genre backwards and forwards. So, I’m not only getting to have fun creating something with my mom, but I’m getting to work with someone who I consider to be a master in the field. It’s a double win for me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

