RWC’17 Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Heather Burch!

*Giveaway! Easy Entry! * U.S. only~Ends 9/3/17
 Today’s featured writer is Romance, Wine & Chocolate guest author, Heather Burch! Learn some fun facts about Heather in this short Q&A.  Leave a comment on the blog for a chance to win!

1. What genres do you write?

Primarily women’s fiction. I’ve also done three romances and four young adult novels.

2. Coffee or tea lover? 

Oh, coffee! Always coffee!

3. Name one thing on your bucket list.

I want to go to Paris and buy a purse.

4. Do you have pets?

We recently adopted a seventy-five pound rescue dog. He is Great Dane and Catahoula Leopard dog mix. His name is Cooper.

5. When I wake up every morning I… Smile! My husband calls me SpongeBob because I wake up so happy!

6. Weirdest or unique thing you own.

I have a gun. It’s a six shooter, like in the old west!

7. Do you have any hobbies or particular skills?

I love photography.

8. What do you hope readers will experience or gain when reading your stories?

It’s all about having a true and honest emotional experience. I love it when readers tell me that my stories made them appreciate their family a little bit more or made them believe in love again!


Meet Heather Burch

IMG_2948
Follow Heather on Amazon for SPECIAL OFFERS!

Heather Burch is a bestselling author of contemporary fiction. Her title, One Lavender Ribbon was in the top 100 overall bestselling books for the year on Amazon. In 2014, she became one of the most quoted authors by Kindle readers.  Her deeply emotional stories explore family, love, hope and the challenges of life. Heather’s books have garnered praise from USA Today, Booklist Magazine, Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly. She has been translated into more than a dozen languages.

 

 

 


IN THE LIGHT OF THE GARDEN

52040532
Buy on Amazon

Inheriting her grandparents’ island estate on Florida’s Gulf coast is a special kind of homecoming for thirty-one-year-old Charity Baxter. Raised by a narcissistic single mother, Charity’s only sense of a loving home comes from childhood summers spent with Gramps and Grandma. But piercing her fondest memories is her sharpest grief—the death of her beloved grandmother, when Charity stopped believing in the magical healing power of the weeping willow that still casts a shadow on their property.

Now that Charity has returned, she’s full of longing and regret, until she befriends her neighbor Dalton Reynolds, who has come to Gaslamp Island carrying his own heartache. As other exiles arrive—a great uncle harboring secrets, a teenage runaway—Charity begins to reconsider what makes a family. When her own estranged mother shows up in crisis, Charity is challenged to search her heart for forgiveness. But forgiving herself may require a little magic from the last place she’d expect to find it.


**Giveaway!**

Winner is Shannon S!

Heather Burch is giving away signed copy of IN THE LIGHT OF THE GARDEN (U.S only) to one lucky commenter!

To enter, simply leave a comment or ask the author a question based on their Q&A responses.  Giveaway ends on 9/3/17.


Follow  Lorelei’s Lit Lair on Facebook, Twitter, and  Instagram  for updates and to see what great reads I’ll be recommending next, plus other fun stuff. 🙂

Sign up at the top right corner of this post at Never Miss a Post!   If it says You are following this blog, then you are good to go!

social-1834007_640social-1834013_640social-1834010_640social-1852361_640

*Please note that some cover images and text links connect to a Lorelei’s Lit Lair affiliate portal. Thank you so much for your support. It’s greatly appreciated!

38 thoughts on “RWC’17 Author Spotlight & Giveaway: Heather Burch!

  1. Hello, ladies!
    If you go to Paris for a purse, Heather, I’m coming with you- just shoot me an email with the date. 🙂
    Congrats on One Lavender Ribbon being in Amazon’s top sellers. #MyDream

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the strangest thing, Jennifer! Since I was in high school I’ve thought how cool it would be to shop in Paris. I always invisioned myself buying some fabulous handbag that clearly could only come from Paris. Does such a thing even exist?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your dog sounds adorable! I would love to read your new book! As for a question…what kind of purse would you buy in Paris? Something designer or something from a local boutique?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Probably from a local Paris boutique. It just sounds romantic to me. When I was in Frieberg, Germany I bought an antique ring for my husband. He still wears it, 10 years later.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, my husband wanted me to have a gun in the house for protection. At the time, he was away now and then and where we lived was a bit remote. He showed me all the cool guns–you know, like on cop shows–but I couldn’t keep the steps straight. We took a gun safety course and in it, I shot a six shooter. Now THAT made sense! Soooo much easier! During the course, I also shot two black powder guns, a civil war styled rifle and a hand gun. (I now know where the terms Lock, Stock, and Barrel and Flash in the Pan come from.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL My husband tries to avoid being around me in the morning. I cant help myself from talking and saying Good Morning…. haha I don’t drink coffee but he does and looks for it before talking (or listening) LOL
    I am also a big fan of photography. Do you do anything with your favorite shots? Have you thought about shooting for your book covers? And what will you take pictures of in Paris? Besides the Eiffel Tower and purses. haha
    Fun interview to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah! A fellow photographer! I have started using some of my pics for backgrounds on book deal ads. With IN THE LIGHT OF THE GARDEN a 1.99 for ebook right now, I have a graphic that I took at Panera Bread on it. (You can see it on my FB page.)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. In answer to book covers, my publishers handle the covers, so no I’ve never had that opportunity…but that would be neat!
      I would photograph everything in Paris! Streets, people, buildings, pastries, flowers…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Heather like you I always wake up happy and everyone I come in Contact with hates how happy I am. I too like photography what kinds of pictures do you like to take? I like scenery.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How do you come up with your ideas? Voices in your head or through observations. BTW, I’m taking my first trip to Europe this fall and visiting Paris is on the itinery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Think of me when you’re in Paris!
      Ideas come from everywhere for me. But usually, I have to meld two great ideas together to feel like I have something unique. In IN THE LIGHT OF THE GARDEN, I had an idea of a woman who inherits her grandfather’s mansion and I melded it with a long ago idea of a weeping willow tree that cries real tears.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Heather says: It’s all about having a true and honest emotional experience. I love it when readers tell me that my stories made them appreciate their family a little bit more or made them believe in love again! REPLY This makes me want to read your newest book Heather. Thanks for having this giveaway opportunity and for letting us get to know you and your books better! Grin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Nora! There is so much hidden meaning in the weeping willow tree…more than I even realized as I began writing it. It’s a tree that takes on your sorrow. But the tree makes a sacrifice in doing so. It’s a unique kind of gift it gives.
      Many have made sacrifices for us…this is a reminder of the most beautiful sacrifices we’ve been offered. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I was going to ask about your six shooter and your photography interests…but those were already taken. So the big question is…do you let a 75 lb dog sleep in your bed?? Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh! We have been so tempted to let him on the bed, but so far we haven’t! If we buy a king size…maybe! But he is such a snuggle bug my husband has to lay on the floor and cuddle with him every evening. It’s actually hilarious!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

